P:E dieting

Gracie204

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
What are the differences between a low carb diet, keto diet, and the PE diet? I notice that someone mentions cutting down on cream when on the PE diet, is this essential? And is cheese, a valuable source of protein, allowed on the PE Diet? I don't see it mentioned in any of the postings.

Krystyna23040

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2 (in remission!)
Treatment type
Diet only
What are the differences between a low carb diet, keto diet, and the PE diet? I notice that someone mentions cutting down on cream when on the PE diet, is this essential? And is cheese, a valuable source of protein, allowed on the PE Diet? I don't see it mentioned in any of the postings.
I am not an expert as I have only been doing the PE diet since April. The way I understand it is that you prioritise protein and eat foods that contain a good proportion of protein together with the fat that naturally comes with them. So basically low carb with not quite so much fat.

So foods I like, such as Ribeye steak and shoulder of lamb are fine because they contain a good amount of protein but something like double cream is not so good as it contains a really small amount of protein. Cheese is better than cream because it does contain protein.

I had to cut down on cream because I was literally having vat loads of cream which did not provide the nutrients I need. I still have cream in every cup of coffee but don't consume the truly ridiculous amount I had been having every day prior to starting the PE diet.

So I still keep really low carb at around 20g of carbs a day but my food is much more nutritious. Protein with the fat it comes with - so meat, fish eggs, cheese, full fat greek yogurt and kefir. Seeds and some nuts. Above ground veggies stir fried in butter. Plus berries and of course some cream for my coffees.

Because I have a very small appetite I do add some protein powder..